>Shhhh. It’s a Christmas Gift for my Niece

>Hello Everyone!

     I just got finished with the cutest bench for my niece for Christmas. I scored this bench at the Salvation Army for $3.10.

The leopard print top is velvet. Delish!

     The bench was a bit ’80’s-licious for me. In fact, the paint had my attention so much that I didn’t notice at first the bunny shape of the sides.
     I sanded the whole thing and painted it glossy white.

White bunnies

While I let the paint dry, I took apart an old bed pillow for some seat padding. I just carefully unfolded the poly material until I had the right measurement. For a more professional look, it would be much better to go with new quilt batting or foam seats lets face it. This bench is for a 5 year old. And, I’m cheap.

Pillow guts
      I sewed the front and back of the velvet top to make a longer strip of material. Using my staple gun I drove a few staples through the pillow guts to keep it from slipping. I then stapled the velvet material all around (including the bottom).

Oops. I didn’t pay attention to the way the velvet lays. Hopefully the sister and niece won’t notice.

     I think the bunnies look pretty snazzy now.
5 comments on “>Shhhh. It’s a Christmas Gift for my Niece

  1. >oh that looks fantastic! Very funky. Hope she loves it too! Jacs x

  2. >Oh…. Salvation Army… I love LOVE to shop there!!! WAY cute bench!!! I know she'll love it!I'm off to visit the rest of your blog!;-D robelyn

  3. >I like how the sides are bunnies…I'm sure she'll love it 🙂

  4. >you all are awesome! thanks for your comments. you know that I will be on the look out for more benches now! the niece has a baby brother that will need something cool too!

  5. Jewel says:

    >Wow – who would have thought it could have been renovated like this. Fantastic work.

Leave a Reply

